Mayor acclaimed, five councillors re-elected, Paige Petriw wins council seat

photo supplied

Port Coquitlam seems to like its council.

The five incumbents were also the top five vote-getters, with Nancy McCurrach topping the polls with 5,234 votes.

Incumbent Dean Washington finished fifth with 4,053 votes while newcomer Paige Petriw won the last seat on council with 2,393 votes.

Local news that matters to you

No one covers the Tri-Cities like we do. But we need your help to keep our community journalism sustainable.

photo supplied

McCurrach previously identified the completion of the city’s Climate Action Plan and Flood Protection Plan – as well as the delivery of the plan – as the top priority for the next term.

Mayor Brad West won by acclimation.

Approximately 18 percent of eligible Port Coquitlam voters headed to the polls in the election – a dip of 10 percent from 2018.

The new council is set to be inaugurated November 8 at Mabbett Hall.

Councillor Laura Dupont opted not to run for re-election.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top